AA Hospitality reveals shortlist for prestigious AA Chefs’ Chef of the Year Award 2023-2024

Get ready for the ultimate culinary highlight at the AA Hospitality Awards this September. The annual event will see Mark Birchall hand over the reins of the industry-famed AA Chefs’ Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by Caterer.com.

This much sought-after accolade, first introduced in 1996, gives all AA Rosette-awarded chefs the power to decide who truly deserves the ultimate recognition for their outstanding performance over the past year. Voted for by their peers, the unique award is a popular and coveted title.


This year’s shortlist features culinary luminaries from across the country, including Monica Galetti of Mere, Paul Ainsworth of Paul Ainsworth at No.6, Clare Smyth of Core by Clare Smyth alongside eight other worthy Chefs.


The awards will take place at the JW Marriott Grosvenor House in London on Monday 25 September, and will bring together over 1,000 esteemed guests from the UK’s hospitality landscape. The evening’s meticulously crafted menu will be curated by none other than Chef Patron of Moor Hall, Aughton (5 AA Rosettes) and the winner of the 2022 Chefs’ Chef award, Mark Birchall.

Commenting on the award, Mark Birchall said:

“It has been an absolute honour to hold this esteemed title for the past year. However, the time has come for me to pass the baton. This year’s remarkable shortlist showcases chefs responsible for some of the finest gastronomy to come out of the UK.”
“As we eagerly await the winner’s announcement on 25 September, I for one will be on the edge of my seat with anticipation! To all the talented chefs, I wish you the best of luck. Your exceptional talent has truly raised the bar in our industry.”

Simon Numphud, Managing Director at AA Media, added:

“Amid the joyous atmosphere of the AA Hospitality Awards, the Chefs’ Chef award is perhaps one of our most coveted, capturing hearts and palates alike. It stands apart from the rest of our awards as our inspectors pass over the power to the chefs themselves. Let us raise our glasses in celebration of these exceptional chefs who are truly trailblazers in their industry.”

2023 Chefs’ Chef nominees

Representing every corner of the UK, from the heart of Scotland to the wild Welsh Mountains, the 2023 Chefs’ Chef nominees bring together the best of the UK’s culinary landscape. The full shortlist can be found below:

 Angela Hartnett, Murano
 Clare Smyth, Core by Clare Smyth
 Galton Blackiston, Morston Hall
 Gareth Ward, Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
 Hélène Darroze, Hélène Darroze at The Connaught
 Lisa Goodwin-Allen, Northcote
 Michael Wignall, The Angel at Hetton
 Monica Galetti, Mere
 Paul Ainsworth, Paul Ainsworth at No. 6
 Tommy Banks, Roots York
 Tom Kitchin, The Kitchin

The AA Hospitality Awards would also like to thank Caterer.com for sponsoring the AA Chefs’ Chef of the Year Award.
To buy tickets for this year’s AA Hospitality Awards, visit our website.